As an honorable step, Google will delete millions of Gmail addresses. You may worry. Take care!
Google announces its intention to clean up its servers in a press release. After the advent of its email service, Gmail quickly became the most widely used email client in the world. But many make them for one use only. After they are used, these addresses are discarded. For others, once an account password is lost, they don’t hesitate to create another one. All these inactive accounts will be deleted soon.
Which Gmail accounts will be deleted?
Since its inception, Gmail has been widely adopted by users. These are the development of Android and the need to have a Google account Millions of addresses are generated. The company plays a significant role in more than this 300 billion emails have been sent Every day. However, it’s not because of a lack of space that an Internet company wants to clean up its servers. The opposite is true In the name of security.
The press release issued said: “If an account is not used for a long time, it is more likely to be compromised. effect, Forgotten or unmonitored accounts may have been compromised “. However, once an account is compromised, it can be usedIdentity theft. This is one of the things that allows phishing operations to thrive.
In addition to security, deleting unused Google Accounts will make multiple identifiers available for the company to create new addresses.
“Starting this year, if the Google account is not used or not logged in For at least two yearsWe may delete an account and its content, including content in Workspace (Gmail, Docs, Drive, Meet, Calendar), YouTube, and Google Photos.”
So understand that Google first targets accounts that have not been used for two years. By the end of the year, all of which will be deleted along with the content they helped create. Other inactive accounts will be phased out.
See Also: What is Cc and Bcc in Email?
How to protect your Google Account?
It’s clear that Google will deal with it after accounts are left inactive Small or unused accounts. These do not apply to key accounts used on your Android smartphones. These are mostly the Secondary accounts. To ensure they are active and avoid deletion, here are the rules to follow:
- send emails from the account or read emails you receive there;
- Watch YouTube videos with an account;
- Download apps from PlayStore with account;
- Use Google Drive, Google Docs, or Google Photos with an account;
- use an account to sign in to third-party services that use sign-in with Google;
- Use the Google search engine with an account.
If you follow these instructions, your account will not be deleted.